Moon Duo – Lost Heads

At the end of September Moon Duo shared Stars Are The Light, an album of accessible, challenging, surprising material. The mainly Psychedelic sequence was pinned to an adult pop sensibility. Experimental melodies delivered earworms, beats drove hypnotic passages. It’s an album of unforced grace.

Today, from Stars Are The Light Sanae Yamada and Ripley Johnson share a new track and video. The track is ‘Lost Heads’, and it’s a thing of bright and delicate beauty.

On the album ‘Lost Heads’ arrives just beyond the midway mark of an eight-track sequence. There’s a feeling that this track is delivered like punctuation to the theme. Not a pause, and not a change of direction, the track underlines the ethos of Moon Duo.

The instrumental progression spirals through an expansive chamber of mirrors – self-referential, but also aware of possible expanse. Percussive chimes toy with expectation. Bass work brings all the warmth. The track is almost seven minutes long – it gives us time to explore the dance floor.

Lyrically Moon Duo point to promise, fulfillment and things that are better. It’s beautiful.

Directed by Andrew Knives the video continues a visual theme that is developed on the album. Dreamlike landscapes, plausible, yet vaguely incredible adventures unfold. Speaking of the video the director said, “The bright red 1985 Ferrari Testarossa seen flying through the vast scenery simulates the journey your mind takes when emerging yourself within the trackThe constant drive, as well as the speed in which you travel through the song, can be seen throughout. Both the song and video take you on a journey that starts within the mind, and sends you travelling into the depths of space.

Check out the ‘Lost Heads’ video, then scroll down for Moon Duo tour dates.

Moon Duo Tour Dates:
Thu. Oct. 17 – Ghent, BE @ Videodroom
Fri. Oct. 18 – Krakow, PL @ Malopolski Garden Of The Arts
Sun. Oct. 20 – Amsterdam, DK @ Paradiso Noord
Mon. Oct. 21 – Berlin, DE @ Volksbuhne
Wed. Oct. 23 – Zurich, CH @ Bogen F
Thu. Oct. 24 – Vevey, CH @ Rocking Chair
Sat. Oct. 26 – Angers, FR @ Le Chabada
Mon. Oct. 28 – London, UK @ Earth
Tue. Oct. 29 – Manchester, UK @ Dancehouse
Wed. Oct. 30 – Liverpool, UK @ Invisible Wind FactoryThu. Oct. 31 – Glasgow, UK @ BAAD
Fri. Nov. 1 – Birmingham, UK @ The Crossing
Sat. Nov. 2 – Leeds, UK @ Brudenell
Sun. Nov. 3 – Gateshead, UK @ The Sage
Mon. Nov. 4 – Brighton, UK @ St. Bartholomew’s Church
Tue. Nov. 5 – Paris, FR @ Petit Bain
Wed. Nov. 6 – Charleroi, BE @ Rockerill
Thu. Nov. 7 – Luxembourg, LU @ De Gudde Wëllen
Sat. Nov. 9 – Utrecht, NL @ Le Guess Who
Tue. Nov. 12 – Brooklyn, NY @ Music Hall of WilliamsburgWed. Nov. 13 – Philadelphia, PA @ Underground Arts
Thu. Nov. 14 – Washington, DC @ Rock & Roll Hotel
Fri. Nov. 15 – Kingston, NY @ BSP
Sat. Nov. 16 – Montreal, QC @ SAT
Mon. Nov. 18 – Toronto, ON @ Longboat Hall
Tue. Nov. 19 – Detroit, MI @ MOCAD
Wed. Nov. 20 – Chicago, IL @ Thalia Hall
Fri. Nov. 22 – Los Angeles, CA @ Lodge Room
Sat. Nov. 23 – Oakland, CA @ The New Parish
Mon. Nov. 25 – Portland, OR @ Wonder Ballroom
Tue. Nov 26 – Seattle, WA @ Neumos
Wed. Nov. 27 – Vancouver, BC @ Venue 

HURRY – BUY – MOON DUO MUSIC

Leave a Reply