Mikal Cronin – I’ve Got Reason

On October 25 Mikal Cronin will release a new album. The album is called Seeker, and today we have ‘I’ve Got Reason’, the final pre-release single from the sequence.

We’re told that Seeker was composed following a heartbreak and a bout of writer’s block. Perhaps that explains the energy experienced on ‘I’ve Got Reason’. Initially a meandering tune, with jangling, cyclical guitar melodies that lean in on ‘Prudence’ era Beatles – the soft psychedelia creeps in. But wait, combustable bursts of distortion disrupt the reflections, and Mikal Cronin shapes this thing to his will. He has reason. “I’ve got reason / To believe / It’s not like the way it seems…” This trippy, faithful exclamation is mirrored in the kaleidoscopic visual.

Splashing, old school chroma-effects spread the screen. Mikal Cronin performs, he walks, and the world alters it’s colors around him. Perception is everything and here things are slowly dismantling. It’s sweet as.

Later this month Cronin will take his album on the road. There’s a whole bunch of North American tour dates. Then, in February 2020 Europe will have it’s turn. Check out the video, and scroll down for dates.

MIKAL CRONIN TOUR DATES
Fri. Oct. 25 – Los Angeles, CA @ Teragram Ballroom
Wed. Nov. 6 – San Francisco, CA @ The Independent
Fri. Nov. 8 – Portland, OR @ Mississippi Studios
Sat. Nov. 9 – Vancouver, BC @ Fox Cabaret
Sun. Nov. 10 – Seattle, WA @ Tractor Tavern
Mon. Nov. 11 – Missoula, MT @ The Badlander
Thu. Nov. 14 – Saint Paul, MN @ Turf Club
Fri. Nov. 15 – Chicago, IL @ Lincoln Hall
Sat. Nov. 16 – Detroit, MI @ Deluxx Fluxx
Sun. Nov. 17 – Toronto, ON @ Horseshoe Tavern
Mon. Nov. 18 – Montreal, QC @ Bar Le Ritz
Tue. Nov. 19 – Boston, MA @ Great Scott
Wed. Nov. 20 – New York, NY @ Bowery Ballroom
Fri. Nov. 22 – Philadelphia, PA @ Underground Arts
Sat. Nov. 23 – Washington, DC @ U Street Music Hall
Sun. Nov. 24 – Durham, NC @ Motorco Music Hall
Mon. Nov. 25 – Atlanta, GA @ The Earl
Tue. Nov. 26 – New Orleans, LA @ One Eyed Jacks
Wed. Nov. 27 – Austin, TX @ Barracuda
Sat. Nov. 30 – Tucson, AZ @ 191 Toole
Sun. Dec. 1 – San Diego, CA @ Casbah
Mon. Feb. 10 – Munich, DE @ Milla
Tue. Feb. 11 – Cologne, DE @ Bumann & SOHN
Wed. Feb. 12 – Berlin, DE @ Kantine am Berghain
Thu. Feb. 13 – Aarhus, DK @ TAPE
Fri. Feb. 14 – Copenhagen, DK @ Loppen
Sat. Feb. 15 – Stockholm, SE @ Nalen
Mon. Feb. 17 – Oslo, NO @ Ingensteds
Tue. Feb. 18 – Gothenburg, SE @ Oceanen
Wed. Feb. 19 – Hamburg, DE @ Molotow (SkyBar)
Thu. Feb. 20 – Amsterdam, NL @ Bitterzoet
Fri. Feb. 21 – Brussels, NE @ Botanique
Sat. Feb. 22 – Paris, FR @ Petit Bain
Mon. Feb. 24 – Bristol, UK @ The Louisiana
Tue. Feb. 25 – London, UK @ Moth Club
Wed. Feb. 26 – Manchester, UK @ Soup Kitchen
Thu. Feb. 27 – Glasgow, UK @ The Hug & Pint
Fri. Feb. 28 – Leeds, UK @ Brudenell Social Club
Sat. Feb. 29 – Brighton, UK @ The Hope & Ruin

HURRY – BUY – MIKAL CRONIN MUSIC

PHOTOGRAPH – MAX MENDELSOHN

Leave a Reply