Good Morning – Garden

Good Morning, the duo of Stefan Blair and Liam Parsons, have just announced their second album of the year. Basketball Breakups will be released on October 4. To celebrate the announcement, the prolific outfit have shared the lead single. It’s called ‘Garden’ and it has a deeply pleasing video.

Like previous stand-alone tracks, ‘Boy, I’m just a loser for your love”, and ‘Take it easy for me, stranger’ ‘Garden’ shows the band’s fondness for melody. But here there is contrast. Here, things are brighter, more melodic. Guitars chime, they don’t bite. And access is warm and easy.

Lyrically, the focus fights against apathy. The wait-and-see ethos of some of their peers is in the cross-hairs. No surprise that a band with prolific output decides to sing about the urgency of action, the drive to get on with things.

Visually, ‘Garden’ is a treat. Shot on location in Ikea, the band make the best use of fake vistas, faux laptops, and display sofas. An element of danger is introduced when feet are placed on a sofa. Who’d have thought Good Morning were such danger merchants?! The cheer is good, the appreciation of committee contrived aspirational slogans underlines the irony and play that Good Morning dish out, with intelligence.

This is great stuff. October should be good. Good Morning will commence their first USA tour in San Francisco on October 9, and will wrap up a month later in Los Angeles. Check the dates.

Wed. Oct. 9 – San Francisco, CA @ Rickshaw Stop
Sat. Oct. 12 – Portland, OR @ Mississippi Studios
Sun. Oct. 13 – Vancouver, BC @ Wise Hall
Mon. Oct. 14 – Seattle, WA @ Barboza
Wed. Oct. 16 – Salt Lake City, UT @ Urban Lounge
Fri. Oct. 18 – Sioux Falls, SD @ Total Drag Records
Sat. Oct. 19 – Chicago, IL @ Empty Bottle
Mon. Oct. 21 – Toronto, ON @ Baby G
Tue. Oct. 22 – Montreal, QC @ Casa Del Popolo
Wed. Oct. 23 – New York, NY @ Baby’s All Right
Fri. Oct. 25 – Philadelphia, PA @ Boot and Saddle
Sat. Oct. 26 – Washington DC @ Pie Shop
Sun. Oct. 27 – Asheville, NC @ Mothlight
Mon. Oct. 28 – Nashville, TN @ The Basement
Tue. Oct. 29 – New Orleans, LA @ Gasa Gasa
Thu. Oct. 31 – Dallas, TX @ Dada
Fri. Nov. 1 – Austin, TX @ The Mohawk
Sat. Nov. 9 – Los Angeles, CA @ EL CID – SOLD OUT

HURRY – BUY – GOOD MORNING MUSIC

PHOTOGRAPH BY XI CAO

Leave a Reply